Day VII in Copenhagen: The People’s Assembly

By Jacqui Patterson, NAACP Global Justice Initiative Director

Today was brief for me, mostly because the Bella Center was closed, I slept in and then I spent a chunk of the day at the airport! However, I was able to catch a bit of the People’s Assembly at the Klimaforum and had one great interview.

I wish I could say that I had some footage from the People’s Assembly and the various poems, speeches, and films that were shared, but I don’t because my video camera battery was depleted.  However, as footage gets posted, I’ll link to it on this blog.   I did, however, get to show a bit of footage from the Women of Color for Climate Justice Road Tour, which was a gift to be able to show folks a glimpse of how climate change is impacting women of color in the US, who are oft invisible in global climate discussions.

Also, I promised to post footage of the Pan African Climate Justice Alliance Press Conference.  The embed link didn’t work but you can find the entire press conference online at : http://www1.cop15.meta-fusion.com/kongresse/cop15/templ/play.php?id_kongressmain=1&theme=cop15&id_kongresssession=2372

Finally, I did a riveting interview with Esmerelda Brown of the United Methodist Women. She provided compelling testimony of how climate change affects her, as a woman of color, and her family and community. She also shared what the United Methodist Women does to address climate change and advance climate justice.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

